Skip to content Skip to navigation

School Health Advisory Committee

Upcoming Events

Safe Kids Day!

Community resources

Hurricane Safety Information

North Carolina SHAC 

NC SHAC newsletter

NC School Healthy Active Children Policy

Farmer's Markets

Identify Hazards/Asthma Triggers

Get active

http://www.actionforhealthykids.org/

https://www.gonoodle.com/

Hiking Trails 

getgoingnc.com/hiking-chapel-hill/

orangecountync.gov/departments/deapr/mountains_to_sea_trail.php

trails.com/trail-crawford-mountain-orange-county-1019850.html

Committe Members

Aviva Scully

Licensed School Social Work Specialist - Orange County Schools
Social/Emotional Needs
aviva.scully@orange.k12.nc.us

Hillary MacKenzie

Orange County School Board Member
Health Services and Nutrition Needs
hillary.mackenzie@orange.k12.nc.us

Chris Walker

Physical Educator, Hillsborough Elementary School
Health/PE Needs
chris.walker@orange.k12.nc.us

Sara Pitts

Director of Environmental Health and Safety, Orange County Schools
Safety Needs
sara.pitts@orange.k12.nc.us

Ivelisse Colón

Family & Consumer Sciences Agent
NC Cooperative Extension
ivelisse_colon@ncsu.edu

Sylvia Compton

OCS Nurse
Social and Emotional Needs
sylvia.compton@orange.k12.nc.us

Penny Rosser

School Nurse, C.W. Stanford
Social and Emotional Needs
penny.rosser@orange.k12.nc.us

Shannon Braxton

OCS Director for College and Career Readiness
Health and PE Needs
shannon.braxton@orange.k12.nc.us

Bob Hill

OCS Athletic Director
Health and PE Needs
bob.hill@orange.k12.nc.us

Valerie Green

Child Nutrition Director, Orange County Schools
Health Services and Nutrition Needs
valerie.green@orange.k12.nc.us

Richard Lewis

School-Community Relations, Orange County Schools
Safety Needs
richard.lewis@orange.k12.nc.us

Elizabeth Romska

School Social Worker
Social and Emotional Needs
elizabeth.romska@orange.k12.nc.us

Sherita Cobb

Director of Student Services, Orange County Schools
Social and Emotional Needs
sherita.cobb@orange.k12.nc.us

Beverly Scurry

Senior Public Health Educator, Orange County Health Department
Health and PE Needs

Ashley Rawlinson

Public Health Program Manager, Orange County Health Department
Health and PE Needs
arawlinson@orangecountync.gov