Skip to content Skip to navigation

School Transfer Options

School transfer options for the 2020-2021 School Year have yet to be determined.

2019-2020 School Year: The Board of Education approved the following capacity restrictions for schools on December 17, 2018.   This will limit the availablity to complete an application for assignment at a school different from the school a student has been assigned based upon their domicile address on record.    The Board of Education will approve capacity restrictions on schools for the upcoming school year on an annual basis.

The following capacity categories will be used for the 2019-2020 school year:

Last Updated: Friday, October 18, 2019.

Open Schools​

Open schools are schools without significant capacity concerns.  The administration shall grant all timely requests to transfer to open schools until the specified capacity limit has been reached, using the order of priorities set out in Policy 4125.B.3. 

The application window for the following schools was open from February 1st - 28th, 2019 and is now closed.

The following schools are designated as "OPEN" capacity for the 2019-2020 school year.  New applications will be accepted ONLY in these schools/grade levels:
Pathways Elementary  (Gr 4-5 only) A.L. Stanback Middle (Gr 6-8 up to 80 students)
  C.W. Stanford Middle (Gr 6-8 up to 60 students)
  Gravelly Hill Middle (Gr 6-8 no limit at this time)


Closed Schools​​  

Closed schools are schools that are projected to exceed the specified capacity limit during the next school year.  The administration shall not have authority to grant any new requests for discretionary transfers to any closed school.   Individuals that were already in attendance at a closed school may reapply for admission for the 2019-2020 school year.  NEW applications for students that were not previously enrolled in a closed school will not be accepted.  New transfer requests with a sibling already in attendance at the school requested and will be returning to that school for the 2019-2020 school year will be eligible to apply.

The following schools are designated as "CLOSED" capacity for the 2019-2020 school year and NO NEW applications will be accepted:
Cameron Park Elementary (Gr K-5) Cedar Ridge High Non-IB (Gr 9-12)
Grady A. Brown Elementary (Gr K-5) Orange High 
New Hope Elementary (Gr K-5)  
Pathways Elementary (Gr K-3)  


Choice Schools​ 

Applications for Choice Transfers for the 2020-2021 School Year will be accepted January 6th - 31st. 

The following schools are designated as "CHOICE" for the 2019-2020 school year:
Central Elementary: Engineered for Excellence (Gr K-5) Cedar Ridge High IB (40 slots)
Efland-Cheeks Global Elementary School (Gr K-5)  
Hillsborough Elementary School (Gr K-5)