Skip to content Skip to navigation

School Transfer Options

New for 2018-2019: The Board of Education approved the following capacity restrictions for schools on December 11, 2017.   This will limit the availablity to complete an application for assignment at a school different from the school a student has been assigned based upon their domicile address on record.    The Board of Education will approve capacity restrictions on schools for the upcoming school year on an annual basis.

The following capacity categories will be used for the 2018-2019 school year:

Last Updated: Wednesday, January 3, 2018

Open Schools​

Open schools are schools without significant capacity concerns.  The administration shall grant all timely requests to transfer to open schools until the specified capacity limit has been reached, using the order of priorities set out in Policy 4125.B.3.

The following schools are designated as "OPEN" capacity for the 2018-2019 school year:
Pathways Elementary  (Gr K-5) A.L. Stanback Middle (Gr 6-8)  Orange High School (Gr 9-12)
  C.W. Stanford Middle (Gr 6-8)  
  Gravelly Hill Middle (Gr 6-8)  

Choice Schools​ 


The following schools are designated as "CHOICE" for the 2018-2019 school year:
Central Elementary: Engineered for Excellence (Gr K-5) Cedar Ridge High IB (40 slots)
Efland-Cheeks Global Elementary School (Gr K-5)  
Hillsborough Elementary School (Gr K-5)  

Closed Schools​​  

Closed schools are schools that are projected to exceed the specified capacity limit during the next school year.  The administration shall not have authority to grant any new requests for discretionary transfers to any closed school.   Individuals that were already in attendance at a closed school may reapply for admission for the 2018-2019 school year.  New applications for students that were not previously enrolled in a closed school will not be accepted.

The following schools are designated as "CLOSED" capacity for the 2018-2019 school year:
Cameron Park Elementary (Gr K-5) Cedar Ridge High Non-IB (Gr 9-12)
Grady A. Brown Elementary (Gr K-5)  
New Hope Elementary (Gr K-5)