Skip to content Skip to navigation

Counseling

Counseling Staff Photo
 

Welcome students, parents, families, staff, and community members to the Counseling Department at Orange High School in Hillsborough, North Carolina. 

OHS Counseling Department Vision:

The OHS School Counseling Department believes all students can learn and become responsible citizens in a diverse world. OHS counselors advocate for every student and use data-driven programming to promote academic and individual success.

OHS Counseling Department Mission:

OHS school counselors provide all students with a comprehensive school counseling program that encourages the highest level of student achievement through growth in academic, career, and personal/social domains. In partnership with teachers, administrators, parents, and our community, OHS school counselors assist all students in reaching their academic goals, becoming lifelong learners, and developing the skills to become caring, respectful, responsible citizens.
 

Staff

NAME

ROLL EXTENSION EMAIL
Phyllis Farlow Counselor - Students with last names A - E 20026 phyllis.farlow@orange.k12.nc.us
​Chanta Jackson Counselor - Students with last names F - L 20024 chanta.jackson@orange.k12.nc.us
Sam Westbrook Counselor - Students with last names M - R 20020 samuel.westbrook@orange.k12.nc.us
Kelly Schaeffer Counselor - Students with last names S - Z 20022 kelly.schaeffer@orange.k12.nc.us
Grace Befort College Advisor 20023 grace.befort@orange.k12.nc.us
Jane Clapp Data Manager 20030 jane.clapp@orange.k12.nc.us
Nick Montgomery Career Development Coordinator, Room 310 20604 nick.montgomery@orange.k12.nc.us
​Marcia Compton Student Services Secretary 20025 marcia.compton@orange.k12.nc.us
Maile Williams Social Worker 20067 maile.williams@orange.k12.nc.us

 

Appointment Procedures

Students are always welcome to visit their counselor, the social worker, the career development center, and the school nurse. Drop-ins for counselor and social worker visits can usually be seen before school, after school, or during lunch. Students must request a pass from teachers for visits to counselors during class time. Parents and students may email or call student services staff to set up appointments. The school nurse is regularly available to students in her office, or assistance can be found in the main office.

If you have a student who needs to be referred to see their counselor, please fill out a referral form using the links below.  We will get an immediate notification when you submit the form.

Farlow (Students A-E)
Jackson (Students F-L)
Westbrook (Students M-R)
Schaeffer (Students S-Z)

 

If you can’t answer the questions below, see your counselor!

How do I calculate my GPA?
How do I study, manage my time, stay organized?
How do I get help from my teachers?
How can I repeat classes if I have failed some?
How can I still graduate when I am supposed to?
How do I research what I want to do after high school?
How do I increase my chances of acceptance to college? 
How do I deal with stress, friends, or any other life issues?

Or any other questions you may have... The Counseling department is here to help you.

 

College/CEEB/SAT/ACT Code:  341875