OCS Summer Scholars Academy

  •  


    The OCS Summer Scholars Academy is underway!!

    SITE

    SITE ADMINISTRATORS

    Grady A. Brown Elementary
    1100 New Grady Brown School Rd 
    Hillsborough, NC 27278

    Tiffany Long - Grady A. Brown
    tiffany.long@orange.k12.nc.us  
    919-638-5286

    New Hope Elementary 
    1900 New Hope Church Road
    Chapel Hill, NC 2751

    William “Austin”  Morris - New Hope Elementary
    austin.morris@orange.k12.nc.us
    919-942-9696

    Pathways Elementary
    431 Strouds Creek Rd 
    Hillsborough, NC 27278

    Karessa Lattimore - Pathways Elementary
    karessa.lattimore@orange.k12.nc.us
    919-732-9136


    Gravelly Hill Middle  
    4801 West Ten Road 
    Efland, NC 27243

    Crystal Medlin - Gravelly Hill Middle School
    crystal.medlin@orange.k12.nc.us
    919-245-4050

    Cedar Ridge High
    1129 New Grady Brown School Road
    Hillsborough, NC 27278

    Heather Witherspoon
    heather.witherspoon@orange.k12.nc.us
    919-245-4000 x 21004

    Kristin Williamson
    kristin.williamson@orange.k12.nc.us
    919-245-21002 x 21003

    Bryce Richardson
    bryce.richardson@orange.k12.nc.us
    919-245-4000 x 21002

    Orange High
    500 Orange High School Road
    Hillsborough, NC 27278

    Will Okun
    will.okun@orange.k12.nc.us
    919-732-6133 x 20004

    Kandis Sauls
    kandis.sauls@orange.k12.nc.us
    919-732-6133 x 20002

    Danielle Boyd
    danielle.boyd@orange.k12.nc.us
    919-732-6133 x 20003


    Transportation, meals, snacks and weekend boxed meals are provided under this opportunity.

    Please send your child with the same materials/supplies he/she/they would need during the regular school year.

    TRANSPORTATION QUESTIONS?

    *For elementary and middle ONLY:  Use the HERE COMES THE BUS App!

    Transportation Contacts:

    NAME/TITLE/PHONE

    HOW THEY CAN HELP

    Chad Gaster
    Bus Manager  
    919-732-2531 x 14530

    Bus numbers/assignments
    Pick-up and drop-off times
    Bus Locations

    Wanda Bain
    EC Bus Manager
    919-732-2531 x 14551

    EC Bus numbers/assignments
    EC Pick-up and drop-off times
    EC Bus Locations

    Donnetta Poole
    TIMS Coordinator

    Bus Routes

     


     

    About:

    The OCS Summer Scholars Academy is a free summer program for all OCS students. We will be targeting reading and math remediation, and readiness and enrichment in all content areas.  The morning block will focus more on remediation and readiness.  The afternoon block will offer more readiness and enrichment experiences that students may not normally get during the regular school year.  

    Students will still have the opportunity to participate in previous summer programs such as Read to Achieve (RTA), Family Success Alliance Readiness Camps, School Community Relations programs and the variety of STEM camps. These programs are now all a part of the Summer Scholars Academy.  The purpose is to provide ALL students access to experience an inclusive environment with integrated academics and movement breaks while addressing social and emotional skills. Students will have access to English Language Learner (ELL), Exceptional Children’s (EC)  and Academically/Intellectually Gifted (AIG) support and related services as needed.

    Instruction will be provided in small groups and in person. 

    This year the district is offering a full-day program from 8:00 – 5:00 and for six weeks.  The dates and times are:
    1st session:  June 14 - July 2
    Holiday Break:  July 5-9
    2nd session:  July 12 - July 30

    Monday – Thursday (Free childcare for grades K-8 will be available on Fridays with transportation included.)
    Morning Block:  8:00 – 12:15 (lunch included 11:15 - 12:15)
    Afternoon Block:  12:30 – 5:00