• Contacts for Summer Programs in OCS:

    NAME

    SITE

    CONTACT

    Nicole Lester nicole.lester@orange.k12.nc.us 

    A.L. Stanback Middle

    919-644-3200

    Anthony Finlen anthony.finlen@orange.k12.nc.us 

    Gravelly Hill Middle

    919-245-4050

    Kumar Sathy kumar.sathy@orange.k12.nc.us 

    Hillsborough Elementary

    919-732-6137

    Jennifer Kelly jennifer.kelly@orange.k12.nc.us 

    Pathways Elementary

    919-732-9136

    Stacy Long stacy.long@orange.k12.nc.us 

    New Hope Elementary

    919-942-9696

    Deidre Lee deidre.lee@orange.k12.nc.us 

    Grady A. Brown Elementary

    919-732-6138

    Crystal Medlin/Tenisha Williamson
    crystal.medlin@orange.k12.nc.us 
    tenisha.williamson@orange.k12.nc.us 

    Orange High

    919-732-6133

    Jeffrey Batten/Gwendolyn Johnson
    jeffrey.batten@orange.k12.nc.us
    gwendolyn.johnson@orange.k12.nc.us 

    Cedar Ridge High

    919-245-4000

    Stan Farrington stan.farrington@orange.k12.nc.us 

    Partnership Academy

    919-245-4030

    Student working on a robot  Staff member helping a student with assignments  student working on a reading assignment

    2022 OCS Summer Scholars Academy

    Summer Scholars Academy is a summer program for eligible students based on students with identified academic needs–for example, students scoring below a specific reading and math score on the district and/or state assessment, students needing intensive interventions, students with specific exceptional children services, or for high school students who are not graduating on time. OCS provides these services due to:

    • Legislative requirements
    • Specific needs of students
    • Teacher capacity
    • Limited building availability due to summer construction projects
    • Preparation needed for the next school year   

    ABOUT SUMMER SCHOLARS ACADEMY:

    • Summer Scholars Academy runs from July 11 - August 4 (Monday-Thursday).
    • Hours: 8:00 - 2:30
    • Locations: 
      • Read to Achieve:Grady A. Brown Elementary School, New Hope Elementary School, Pathways Elementary School:
      • Grades 4-8 Camp: Gravelly Hill MS, AL Stanback MS
      • High School Credit Recovery:  Orange HS, Cedar Ridge HS, Partnership Academy
    • Multiple programs –for eligible students only
      • Read To Achieve 
      • Extended School Year
      • Compensatory Education
      • Remediation and Readiness 
      • Career and Technical Education programs for middle and high schools
      • High school credit recovery (schedule may vary)
    • Social-emotional learning & experiences infused throughout the day 
    • Meals and transportation will be provided.
    • The service is provided at no cost to families.

    For year round students, the dates for eligible students are:

    • June 13 - July 1 
    • Monday - Friday 8:00am - 3:00pm 
    • Location: Hillsborough Elementary School
    • Multiple programs- for eligible students only
      • Read to Achieve
      • Extended School Year
      • Compensatory Education

    If you have any questions, please send an email to: ocs.summerschool@orange.k12.nc.us