Exceptional Children Department

  • Department Chair

    Paula Alford

    Extension: 20754

    Email: paula.alford@orange.k12.nc.us

    College Attended: UNCW (Undergrad); Meredith (Masters)

    Why I am a Teacher: I want to help people and I enjoy teaching.

    Heroes: Mark Alford- he has patience, cares about everyone, is funny, and makes connections with students and adults. Community service workers and military personnel who put their lives on the line for our safety.

     

    Classes/Weekly Instructional Plans

    Block 1: English II

    Block 2: English IV

    Block 3: Planning

    Bock 4: English II


    Teacher

    David Barrow

    Extension: 20353

    Email: david.barrow@orange.k12.nc.us

     

    Classes/Weekly Instructional Plans

    Block 1: 

    Block 2: 

    Block 3: 

    Bock 4: 


    Teacher

    Lori Bartch

    Extension: 20761

    Email: lori.bartch@orange.k12.nc.us

    College Attended: Edinboro University of Pennsylvania/NCCU

    Why I am a Teacher: School was not easy for me, but I always was being asked by friends to help or assigned by teachers to help others who struggled more than I did. It seemed like a natural progression. Plus, looking at blueprints boggles my mind so I opted out of the idea of an Architect.

    Heroes: My heroes are anyone who fights for the underdogs, who encourage them, and who sees their potential.

    Favorite Book: To Kill a Mockingbird

     

    Classes/Weekly Instructional Plans

    Block 1: 

    Block 2: 

    Block 3: 

    Bock 4: 


    Teacher Assistant

    Bessie Bean

    Extension: 20755

    Email: bessie.bean@orange.k12.nc.us

     


    Teacher Assistant

    Shari Clayton

    Extension: 20755

    Email: shari.clayton@orange.k12.nc.us

     


    Teacher Assistant

    Teryn Grap

    Extension: 20761

    Email: teryn.grap@orange.k12.nc.us

     


    Teacher

    Laura Bell

    Extension: 20755

    Email: laura.bell@orange.k12.nc.us

     

    Classes/Weekly Instructional Plans

    Block 1: 

    Block 2: 

    Block 3: 

    Bock 4: 


    Teacher

    Hannah Hribar

    Extension: 

    Email: hannah.hribar@orange.k12.nc.us

    College Attended: Appalachian State University, B.S in Special Education

    Why I Am A Teacher: Every child deserves an advocate and someone who fights in their corner.

    Heroes: Dr. Donald Cole, Elizabeth Warren, Michelle Obama, all great advocates of education

     

    Classes/Weekly Instructional Plans

    Block 1: American I

    Block 2: Academic Strategies

    Block 3: Math 1

    Bock 4: Planning


    Teacher

    Adrienne Jordan

    Extension: 20753

    Email: adrienne.jordan@orange.k12.nc.us

     

    Classes/Weekly Instructional Plans

    Block 1: English I

     

    Block 2: 

    Block 3: Planning

    Bock 4: English I


    Teacher

    Lauren Maher

    Extension: 20751

    Email: lauren.maher@orange.k12.nc.us

    College Attended: University of California, Davis

    Favorite Book: East of Eden by John Steinbeck

     

    Classes/Weekly Instructional Plans

    Block 1: Maher's Class

    Block 2: Maher's Class

    Block 3: Maher's Class

    Bock 4: Maher's Class


    Project Search Teacher

    Amy McMullen

    Extension: 20758

    Email: amy.mcmullen@orange.k12.nc.us

     


    Teacher Assistant

    William Morris

    Extension: 20761

    Email: william.morris@orange.k12.nc.us

     


    Teacher

    Bryan Patton

    Extension: 20759

    Email: bryan.patton@orange.k12.nc.us

     

    Classes/Weekly Instructional Plans

    Block 1: 

    Block 2: 

    Block 3: 

    Bock 4: 


    Teacher

    Erin Pettiford

    Extension: 20762

    Email: erin.pettiford@orange.k12.nc.us

     

    Classes/Weekly Instructional Plans

    Block 1: 

    Block 2: 

    Block 3: 

    Bock 4: 


    Teacher Assistant

    Brian Poole

    Extension: 20751

    Email: brian.poole@orange.k12.nc.us


    Teacher Assistant

    Spenser Poteat

    Extension: 20751

    Email: spenser.poteat@orange.k12.nc.us


    Teacher

    Peter Sjogren

    Extension: 20750

    Email: peter.sjogren@orange.k12.nc.us

    College Attended: UNC-Chapel Hill

    Why I am a Teacher: First time - Love for math and helping others; the second time - Help students (with disabilities) prepare for life at an early age

    Heroes: My father - He is my father, worked hard; Steve Miller - was a coach when I was younger; Ernie Barnes - Graduated from the same high school, went from professional football to what he loved (art), supported community

    Favorite Book: How to Cook Everything

     

    Classes/Weekly Instructional Plans

    Block 1: 

    Block 2: 

    Block 3: 

    Bock 4: 


    Teacher

    Amanda Strong

    Extension: 20760

    Email: amanda.strong@orange.k12.nc.us

     

    Classes/Weekly Instructional Plans

    Block 1: Math 1

    Block 2: Planning

    Block 3: Literacy Strategies

    Bock 4: Biology


    Teacher

    Rachel Wrenn

    Extension: 

    Email: rachel.wrenn@orange.k12.nc.us

     

    Classes/Weekly Instructional Plans

    Block 1: Civics

    Block 2: Prep 2

    Block 3: Planning

    Bock 4: Financial Management